Coolart Homestead and Wetlands is open to visitors each day, between 9am and 5pm. Entry is free of charge and accessibility to most parts of the estate is good. Visitors can enter the estate via Lord Somers Rd, Somers; a visitor carpark is located at the end of the long driveway.
During winter months, between July and November, the Visitors Centre, Homestead and Observatory are closed to the public on weekends, except for special events. However the grounds, walks and picnic facilities remain open daily.
The Visitors Centre is situated at the entry to the estate. It is staffed by park rangers and offers excellent information on all aspects of the estate – its flora, fauna and bird life. There are many preserved birds on display, making it an intriguing destination for adults and children.
Coolart Homestead is open to the public and many of its rooms are on display. The captivating gardens and grounds of Coolart were designed in 1938, for the Luxton family, by David Mathews, then curator of Footscray Gardens. They incorporate formal and working elements: an arbor and rose garden, sweeping lawns with grand specimen trees, shaded pathways, a kitchen and herb garden and orchard, and many walking trails.
Visitors can enjoy a picnic in the grounds, with working barbecues available for use. Tables and benches provide a shady area for gatherings. While at Coolart, inspect the Homestead and historic outbuildings, stroll the grounds and explore the many walking tracks – including one that goes to the beachfront.